Call Us On:
01484 609818

Meet the Governors

About the Governing Body


Cumberworth First School governing body is central to the work of the school. As critical friends our governors help set the direction of the school and ensure that we do our very best for all the pupils in our care.


Our governors may have specific roles and be members of various sub-committees in addition to being part of the full governing body.  Wherever possible, governors will visit during the school day at least two or three times a year.


The number of members on a governing body varies from school to school, generally depending on the size of the school.  The Instrument of Government of Cumberworth C E (A) First School states that the governing body should comprise of 14 members.  Members are elected for a period of four years.  A governing body is made up of several different categories of governor and the number of each category is stated in the Instrument of Government.  The governing body of a Voluntary Aided (church) school such as Cumberworth is a combination of appointed and elected members.


Our Chair of Governors is Mrs Keely Carleton who can be contacted through school or by direct email to:


Our Governors

Rachel Burnham - Foundation Governor

Keely Carleton - Foundation Governor (Chair)

Marina Davis - Co-opted Governor

Steve Dearman - Foundation Governor (Vice Chair)

Jennifer Eason - Staff Governor

Louise James - Parent Governor

Lucinda Minx - Foundation Governor

Nicola Roberts - Foundation Governor

Maggie Walker - Head Teacher (Ex-officio)

Richard Walker - Parent Governor

Lucy Wilks - Foundation Governor


Instrument of Government

Committees of Governing Body

Governor Responsibilities

Register of Business Interests

Governors Attendance